top of page

New Zealand. Waiheke United AFC is the first football 7 champion

The Federation International de Football 7 (FIF7) is expanding and reaching more and more countries and in New Zealand was held the first official championship with recognition of the highest body of football 7. The competition brought together teams in Auckland for the contest and the event brought together large clubs in the region.

There were eight clubs in contention and the big decision was between Waiheke United AFC and Takapuna AFC, with Waiheke winning by 6x3. The award for best player of the league was with Luis Maria Suarez (Waiheke United AFC), while the prize of best goalkeeper was won by Ignacio Girardelli (Waiheke United AFC) and the top scorer was Jake McCoy (Franklin United FC).

With the title the Waiheke United AFC has been accredited to compete in the Football 7 World Club Championship, that will be realized between the days 08 and 10 of December in Brazil.

"We were very pleased with the success of this first edition and it was the kickoff for a development project in the region. The clubs and athletes were very satisfied and this is the most important" said organizers Leo Berlin and Italo Martins, organizers of the championships and FIF7 representatives in New Zealand.

football 7 federation
bottom of page